Six Feet Down Under

I am a good friend of most any bar food; I often get excited at the mention of a fryer.  But last night I met my match.

After a few beers at the Federal, some friends and I walked along Main St. looking for an open kitchen.  We only wanted a little something to pick at to finish off the evening, or so I thought.  After ordering a cheap pitcher at the Down Under Pub, I told my buddy to order whatever and stepped outside to make a call.  When I returned he’d ordered too many appetizers in addition to the motherload of bar food heretofore never dreamed of: the Peanut Butter Bacon Burger (three of them!). 

The burger oozed peanut butter and you’ll be glad I didn’t insert a photo.  In fact, I’m glad I didn’t take a photo–the memory alone slows my pulse.  But the taste was insane.  After the first bite I thought there could be no way I could finish, despite its incomparable flavor.  Next thing I knew I was sucking remnants of peanut butter and bacon grease off my fingers and looking for a way to wash down the last bite.

I think I died a little with that unexpected gutbomb.  You too can be a gastronimic daredevil at the Down Under, it may be worth it.  Just be sure to tell your family you love them.

Published in: on April 21, 2009 at 7:46 pm  Comments (3)  

3 Comments

  1. LMAO

    oh, the things that alcohol compels us to put in our mouths. (!)

  2. Until this, I thought your taste was impeccable. Now I shall have to be more wary. *sigh*

  3. I hear ya on the Peanut Butter Bacon Burger. I would have never believed that something like that would be so tasty until the owner of Down Under cut one up & gave me a taste. It’s not a pretty sight, but the perfect combo of sweet & savory.


Comments are closed.

