Taste Carolina (hint: it tastes good)

taste-logo2

Food tours seem like such an easy/fun way to explore a city, meet chefs, and eat delicious foods that I’m surprised I’ve never even seen one before.  I attended my first such tour this weekend, with the brand-new Taste Carolina (Gourmet Food Tours).

Taste Carolina does tours in Durham, Carrboro, Chapel Hill, and Raleigh, and will be starting up some themed tours as well (I am extremely excited about the barbecue tour, myself).

This weekend, we checked out the Downtown Durham tour, which hit up restaurants (and one popsicle stand) in the American Tobacco, downtown, and Brightleaf areas.  We got to meet the chefs/proprietors at each place and learned some Durham history and fun facts as we walked and ate (and drank).  I wouldn’t necessarily recommend the Durham tour to a Durham native (unless you don’t get out much), but if you’re looking to explore a new part of the Triangle (or a new cuisine–for instance there might just be a taco tour in the near future), this is a fun way to do it.

Published in: on April 12, 2009 at 8:02 pm  Comments (3)  

3 Comments

  1. So after checking out their website, I’m trying to figure out what I can learn from one of these tours for $30+ that I can’t figure out from your fantastic blog (and others) for free…???

  2. Hey! Do you guys know of a place to get a good chicken & waffles around here?


Comments are closed.

