Devorame otra vez, La Vaquita

I finally returned for the huilote en mole.  It did not disappoint.

 

huilote-en-mole

 

Again, the mole was deep and delicious.  It photos terribly, but so does art, and both are beautiful.  The quail itself was much better than the smaller ones I had grilled previously.  The meat was much jucier and easier to remove.  I liked putting chunks of the chicken/pork tasting meat on a fresh tortilla and slathering it with a little more mole.

I saved the leftover tortillas and mole.  The next day I made a quesadilla with mole on top.  Awesome.  I might just custom order it next time.

Also, I’d like to highlight La Vaquita’s new website, which one reader informed us of.  It might come in handy when you want to call in some huilotes so you don’t have to wait twenty minutes for them.

Published in: on February 1, 2009 at 5:34 pm  Comments (6)  

6 Comments

  1. my favorite mole is at mami nora’s. they offer it as a special sometimes, and it’s so perfectly balanced and delicious.

  2. Thanks, Now i’m going to have that song in my head ALL DAY

    lalala..devorame otra vez..ven devorame otra vez…ven castigame con tus deseos sin dejar un pedazo de piel…lalala

    AAAAAAAA

  3. I find these entries very interesting and helpful in exploring the Durham food options that I have not encountered yet. I know that you often do, but could you please include prices of meals with all of your blog entrees? I am trying to decide if I want to drive over to La Vaquita and I am thinking of how useful it would be to know how much the Huilotes con mole plate costs.

  4. (sp) entries not entrees. Thanks.

  5. JI: about $8-9 if I remember correctly

  6. You can become a La Vaquita fan on Facebook, too! So far, I think there are only 5 of us…


Comments are closed.

