Pinhook Grand Opening Friday!

pinhook-outside221

The Pinhook has actually been open for about a month, but they are now ready to throw a serious opening party.  This Friday, December 5th, the party will feature two bands (Mosadi Music and Sweet By and By) followed by two DJs and what I’m sure will be some killer dancing–like the kind even people who hate dancing could get into (depending on the degree of their hatred).

Pinhook has been my new favorite bar and music venue in Durham (and possibly anywhere) since I first walked in last month.  It’s got great music (both live and on the ipod), a full bar including several beers (mostly local) on tap and more in bottles, and the decor is almost sleek (all red walls, cool art) but with the feel of a dive bar (mismatched furniture and completely laid back everything).  Also, they have three video games (Galaga, Ms. Pacman, and pinball–check out the hot lady on that one).

pinhook-games

Furthermore, it is nonsmoking, but if you do need to step outside to smoke you will almost certainly not be alone.

Also they have internet (and tables and couches and plugs), making it a really awesome place to study.

pinhook-front

pinhook-light

Because they have a full bar and don’t serve food (and this is North Carolina) they are required to be a membership-only club.  They make this as easy as possible, though, and memberships only cost $2.  And although they don’t serve food, they are very friendly to outside food (and Toast is just down the street!).

pinhook-back

I hope I haven’t built it up too much, but there’s really no danger you’ll be disappointed.  Go downtown Durham!

Pinhook
117 W. Main St.
4pm – 2am, Mon – Sat
Published in: on December 3, 2008 at 7:27 pm  Comments (7)  

7 Comments

  1. Hubby and I have been here a few times now, including movie night. We’ve enjoyed ourselves every time. The owners seem very cool and friendly, drink specials are good… This is a great addition to downtown.

  2. We LOVE this place. Its the neighborhood bar we’ve waited for. Owners are nice and laid back, as is the place. free movies on monday nights!

  3. Holy F – this place looks awesome. I wish they had one in the shady place where I live.

  4. It sounds like all the good things about Hell, located in Durham; in other words, perfect. I intend to head over there this weekend and check it out.

  5. This looks like a great place, someplace I could spend a lot of time at and get really attached to. For that reason, I give it six months.

  6. the only thing that *may* hurt it is food. as we well know, this is a foodie damned town…and i just get this feeling people in Durham prefer a place where they can eat *and* drink, vs just drink.

    for my part, i think we need both. I love a place that’s food and bar…but i also love a good neighborhood BAR…just a Bar.

  7. Great bar, but when I walked over (excitedly) to play Mz Pacman, it was out of order… I must admit, I had to drown my sorrows…


Comments are closed.

