Carolina’s Mexican and Comforting American Classics

A regular commenter tipped us off to Carolina’s Mexican and Comforting American (3500 N Roxboro Rd) opening up in Golden Spoon’s old location.  We tried it, and it is pretty crazy. It has a serious identity crisis (in a good way).  Think Honey’s meets Tex-Mex meets a very authentic taqueria.  The menu includes breakfast sandwiches, omelets, burgers, chicken wings, cheese steaks, tacos, breakfast burritos, enchiladas, and a page full of house specialties.  The reason for the multiple personality disorder is that the new owners have retained the old Golden Spoon chef.

As might be expected from a place with so many offerings, nothing we had was fantastic, but it was all good.  If you can’t quite decide what you are in the mood for, this is the place for you.

This is a chicken tamale and a mixed (cheese, bean, pork) pupusa.  The tamale was quite good — a little dry, but the flavor and spice were excellent.  The pupusa was thicker than most I have had. I think the beans were too much, and next time I would order just cheese and pork, which I suspect would make it well above average.

This is the carne asada chimichanga, and it was good but not excellent.

I can’t remember the name of this dish, but it was the goat special.  It was the most interesting dish, and tasted more like Indian than Mexican.  I am glad I tried it, but I am not sure I would recommend it.

Sometimes indecisiveness or picky dining companions create a need for a restaurant with a very diverse menu, and Carolina’s certainly fits the bill.  This is a welcome addition to North Durham and I will definitely go back.

Hours
M: 7am-3pm
Tu-Su: 7am-9pm 
Breakfast menu only served until 2pm. 

Published in: on October 26, 2008 at 10:51 pm  Comments (3)  

3 Comments

  1. Awesome! I can’t wait to visit when I get back to Durham in November.

    So when you were eating the goat, did you reveal yourself as the no-longer-mythical chupacabra?

    I was at the International Birding Center on the Rio Grande this afternoon. One of the big birds there is called a chachalaca but I’m terrible with new names and kept wanting to call it a chupacabra (or a chimichanga, which your new restaurant serves).

    I asked my park ranger pal (who got his PhD in biology at Duke) if they had any henways. Alas, they don’t.

  2. I tried this place for breakfast today–really hoping to find a decent breakfast burrito–and I gotta say, it was pretty terrible. Soggy, flavorless hash browns, mediocre eggs, and you could probably get better salsa and tortillas at Kroger. The only thing that tasted passably good was the chorizo, which is kind of hard to screw up. Also the service was ridiculously slow (I think I waited 25 minutes for my food, and there were no orders ahead of me.)

    Dinner may be better. But I doubt I can be bothered to find out.

  3. Thanks for the report. It definitely seems like the type of place that is going to be pretty hit or miss.


Comments are closed.

