Awesome tacos at Mi Pueblo

Like most taquerias in the area, Taqueria Mi Pueblo has weekend specials so I figured it was a good time to head over to east Durham.

Mi Pueblo has the works – tacos, tortas, corn-based quesadillas – and the weekend specials include soups and special meat options. Just for comparison’s sake, I tried a carnitas taco, and since it was Sunday, I went for a barbacoa de borrego (mutton barbecue) taco and a massive bowl of caldo de camaron (shrimp soup).

The tacos were every bit as good as they look. I don’t eat a lot of mutton, so all I can really say is that it was good, but the carnitas taco was phenomenal. Some of the best I’ve ever had. I regretted putting a tiny bit of salsa on the carnitas because the meat was so amazing on its own.

…and that’s the shrimp soup. The broth was spicy and rich, and the shrimp were huge, but honestly I could not handle this. I can do lengua and cabeza, but totally intact shrimp, feelers and all, were too much for me. I only ate about three of them. However! If you like shrimp and don’t mind dissembling them, then by all means.

Mi Pueblo is tucked away in a corner of The Village, at the intersection of Holloway and Miami, past Lowes Foods. It’s not quite as clean as some other taquerias in the area (currently riding an 86 sanitation score) but the tacos are phenomenal.

Taqueria Mi Pueblo (map)
Monday – Thursday: 11 am – 9 pm
Friday: 11 am – 10 pm
Saturday: 10 am – 10 pm
Saturday: 10 am – 9 pm

Published in: on August 3, 2008 at 3:33 pm  Comments (3)  

3 Comments

  1. Or you can just eat the shrimp whole, heads and feelers optional. It won’t hurt you. Might get stuck in your teeth, but you’ll gain authenticity points(!).

  2. weird, i’ve never seen a Caldo de camaron with that many whole reconstituted shrimp in it. Generally the broth itself is a long simmering affair of dried chiles aromatics, and dried shrimp, that get pureed and strained. its usaually served either with just a few of the whole shrimp on top (more for effect, but they can be eaten), or even a few fresh cooked (peeled) shrimp on top. the main thing is the flavor of the dried shrimp in the broth…its sooooo good

  3. Just a note to let you know I featured your blog in this week’s 30Threads video show. You can see it at 30threads.com. Your blog almost always makes me hungry.


Comments are closed.

