Orellana lives! (was: A sad day for the Durham food scene: R.I.P. Orellana)

UPDATE: Nevermind!  Apparently Orellana is just being renovated.  I know I will appreciate it that much more after the scare.

I have received reports that Pupuseria & Taqueria Orellana (corner of Infinity & Roxboro) has closed down.  We try not to pick favorites, but Orellana was universally loved by all of us. If you didn’t eat here while you had the chance, you really missed out.

Published in: on July 18, 2008 at 6:52 am  Comments (10)  

10 Comments

  1. You can’t be serious. I had big plans to try everything at Orellana! Where are we supposed to go for perfect chicharrones now?

  2. I literally had to brace myself when I heard the news. If it was my daily torta that was keeping them in business, I don’t know if I will be able to forgive myself for leaving town for the summer.

  3. Damn! I was going to try this tonight before the All-Star game. Oh well.

  4. […] font-family:Symbol;} ol {margin-bottom:0in;} ul {margin-bottom:0in;} –> After that depressing news about Orellana’s closing, I was cheered up to read at Eat at Joe’s about something to look forward to: new brewery (and […]

  5. I just drove by Monday after a weekend of yuca con chicharron cravings, and was terribly, horribly disappointed. I took my needs

  6. (cont’d from above)
    …to El Cuscatleco, but…eh. Any recs for satisfying yuca and chicharron??

  7. I’m the daughter of the owner. The restaurant has not closed down. We have just closed temporarily for renovations. Sorry about the confusion. if you have any questions or concerns, you can email at pupuseriaorellana@hotmail.com

  8. This is great great news. Thanks for the update!

  9. The sign out front (if I read it clearly while driving in the other direction!) said it would be closed for three weeks.

  10. […] was previously discussed here, here, here, and here. It is located at the corner of Roxboro and Infinity. Published […]


Comments are closed.

