La Regia Latina (Highway 55)

La Regia Latina (2601 Hwy 55) sits half way between I-40 and 147 on Highway 55, but close to nothing in particular.  It is a Mexican and Dominican restaurant and bar, complete with Univision, pool table, Latin tunes, and good food.

Three friends and I walked in around 7:30pm on Friday and instantly doubled their customer count.  I presume the crowd is usually this light because one server was handling everything.  This made the waiting time fairly long, but the food did not disappoint.

La Regia Tables
Their menu is diverse, featuring 10 or so Dominican dishes, many Mexican dishes, some seafood, and even cheeseburgers (who orders a cheeseburger at a Latin restaurant??).  We asked the server what was best, and she pointed us to an item on the Dominican list {pictured below} (forget the name, but it was steak and onions with some sort of bean soup and rice on the side).

Steak and bean soup

My girlfriend (who ordered this) really enjoyed the steak and rice.  I sampled the steak myself and found it flavorful and with a good texture.  The bean soup was also good, although the steak and rice occupied most of her attention.  The price was around $10.

I had the macho burrito {pictured below} since I’m a macho kind of guy, although I did not feel very macho by the end, having eaten maybe half of it.  It was good, and definitely a lot of food for ~$7, but still a fairly ordinary-tasting burrito.

Macho Burrito

My other friends ordered a cheese quesadilla and something else (maybe some sort of enchilada combo?).  They are both pictured below.  Both friends enjoyed their meal with the exception of the beans in the second picture below, the texture of which he compared to sand.

The overall quality of the food was high, but with the many high-quality Latin options available locally, La Regia Latina probably has not earned go-to status in Durham.  But, I think if they paired their food with faster service and a cleaner setting (had a few gnats circling our table), they could be a near-top Latin option in Durham, particularly with their Dominican items.

**On a side note, right around 9pm the restaurant transitions to a bar.  Just as we were leaving, the music changed to up-tempo and a security guard was outside fastening his “toolbelt” preparing for the night ahead.

Published in: on June 7, 2008 at 5:45 pm  Comments (2)  

2 Comments

  1. The short- if you are looking for good Dominican fare- keep looking – The long- stopped in for lunch- empty of course-ordered Chicharon de pollo con papa fritas- Crispy chicken w/french fries-I am Dominican so this is a good simple Dominican dish- good to judge the quality of the food and its preparation- I was amazed that I was charged 12 dollars- when I asked about the lunch specials, I was told there were none for the Dominican food-hmmmmmmm- so anyway- the chicken was definitely prepared Dominican style- tasty and delicious- the fries were unremarkable- however, the chicken consisted of 2 legs chopped into small pieces, with a small side salad- 2 tomato slices, lettuce and 2 slices of avocado- for 12 dollars- it was a complete and total rip-off and a major disappointment. I imagine the waitress took me as a gringo since I purposely spoke English only. She did try to sell me Mexican dishes, which were clearly cheaper, as opposed to the requested Dominican fare I ordered. I will not be returning to this place if I have a taste for Dominican food. I do plan on returning in a day or so to sample the Mexican cooking. Again, beware of the prices for the Dominican food- loony tunes type prices for simple food. Service was good and food quickly prepared, but again, remember, it was noon and the place was empty. Located in Durham on SC route 54 in the middle of nowhere, this place is definitely aimed for the Mexican/Chicano crowd with the Dominican fare thrown in as an after-thought.

  2. me encata la comida en este restaurante yo creo que no hay ningun otro lugar como este


Comments are closed.

