Pound Cake at Bull City Bakery

North Durham’s Bull City Bakery (right across from Kuts ‘n Kurls on Guess Rd.) has been around for about two years, and although they don’t have much for walk-in customers, their pound cake alone is worth a visit. 

The bakery seems to get most of its business from whole cakes (wedding cakes, business and school events, etc.), but in-store they have several kinds of pound cakes (chocolate, lemon, and orange ginger this time around) and 8 or 9 different varieties of cookies.  All their other items, including pastries, have to be ordered ahead of time.

Dean, the owner, is a great guy – after ordering a slice of lemon pound cake and an oatmeal butterscotch cookie, I mentioned the blog (since I was taking some photos) and he gave me a cranberry orange oatmeal cookie on the house.  I can also appreciate the “cake rules” from their website:

  1. Frosting should never come from a bucket.
  2. Cake Mix may be homemade, but is never scratch.
  3. Yellow and White are not Cake Flavors.
  4. Friends don’t let friends eat bad cake.
  5. Good cake makes parties better.
Amen to #4!

They haven’t gotten a lot of traffic at their location, but they’re one of a few bakeries that fill Durham’s underrepresented southern bakery niche.  Dean also mentioned that he hopes to pair up with Maple View Farms and sell ice cream sandwiches at Duke football games, which would add up to about 1000 calories of delicious.  

The cranberry orange oatmeal cookies are terrific (they sell out pretty often), and the pound cake is some of the best I’ve had in the Triangle.  But really, with a name like Bull City Bakery, how could it be bad?  (Also, in case you were wondering, the restaurant next door – Cafe Latino Deli – unfortunately closed a few weeks ago.)

Bull City Bakery (map)
Tuesday – Friday: 10 am – 5 pm
Saturday – Sunday: 10 am – 3 pm

Published in: on June 4, 2008 at 3:17 pm  Comments (11)  

11 Comments

  1. That sucks — I kind of liked Cafe Latino.

  2. One of the things that I used to like about this blog was that restaurant visits seemed to be anonymous. That made it much more credible than most of the other local blogs. I am saddened that you now announce yourself and accept bribes.

  3. Well, it is a bit awkward to pull out one’s camera and snap photos discreetly while the owner/manager/waitperson is watching you. Sort of creeps people out. So we usually smile sheepishly, shrug, and mumble something about showing our mothers that we are eating well as we toil away in law school.

  4. For the record, I told Dean that unless he lined my pockets with free cookies he would get savaged by the blogosphere. And I definitely used the word “blogosphere”.

  5. blewgo,

    Different posters treat that subject a little bit differently. I typically do not mention it and try to take pictures incognito, but sometimes the owner will see you and ask.

  6. http://jhv.blogs.com/eatatjoes/2008/07/extortion.html

    I guess I hadn’t thought much about the possibility that restaurant owners would know/care what our little blog writes about them. But I’m pretty sure that we are not as recognizable around town as Eat at Joe’s is, so I assume/hope it’s generally not a problem for us (if DNR can keep his mouth shut in the future :]

  7. […] sandwiches from 11-3, for $8.50 a piece.  All in all, Good, Better, Best reminded me a lot of Bull City Bakery, but without one killer item like BCB’s pound cake. That being said, if you’re in the […]

  8. I love the bull city bakery. The staff is amazing and super nice. I actually mentioned to the guy working there that I read about them on Carpe Durham. He said that he liked the review, but wished that they would have talked more about his place and not the place that was there before him – as it wasn’t really pertinent info. But anywho! The rumors are true – the orange cranberry cookies are unbelievable!

  9. Bull City Bakery seems to have vanished! Where can I get a good cake?! Someone, help!

    • It vanished since you were there a couple of days ago?

  10. […] Los Migueleños rolls … … with its own truck parked right outside their restaurant (3316 Guess Rd.), which appears to have been converted into more of a nightlife spot.  I didn’t get a good look, so I definitely might be wrong, but it seems like it has expanded into the space formerly occupied by Bull City Bakery. […]


Comments are closed.

