Weekends at Azteca Grill

Yesterday I was craving some good huevos rancheros, so I went to Azteca Grill to read the N&O story on The Doughman and remind myself of their great weekend menu.

On the weekends Azteca has an expanded menu that includes menudo (a tripe and hominy soup that apparently cures hangovers), posole (a pork and hominy soup, similar to menudo, but not so much tripe), papusas, and caldo de res (an oxtail soup with big chunks of potato, zucchini, carrot, corn, chayote, and cabbage). Unfortunately, this time around I only had time and room for the huevos rancheros, but I’ve had the caldo de res before (you can also have it de pollo) and it’s delicious. The soups are $8 each and can comfortably feed two, especially alongside their above average chips and salsa. I can’t wait to go back and try the posole.

The reason Azteca is my go-to restaurant for huevos rancheros ($6.50, served with refried beans, rice and corn tortillas) is the “Mexican sauce” they liberally pour over the sort of scrambled/sort of over easy eggs. It’s basically a fresh, roasted jalapeño salsa that’s just spicy enough. In any case, Azteca has a great weekend menu with a bunch of items I haven’t seen elsewhere, particularly their traditional Mexican soups.

So, can anybody vouch for the restorative quality of menudo?

Azteca Grill (map)
Weekdays: 10.30 am – 10 pm
Weekends: 8 am – 10 pm

Published in: on May 26, 2008 at 10:56 am  Comments (1)  

One Comment

  1. a good bowl of pozole has cured me of a nasty hangover or two…and my sister in law swears by Menudo…

    mexican breakfast…feckin A!


Comments are closed.

