Paschall’s Cafe

(1102 Holloway St)

I chose Paschall’s for lunch based on a response to a chowhound thread looking for Southern hot dog places. I got one of those (chili, yes, finely chopped slaw, yes) and also tried a burger (could have been less well done but was pretty decent). I plan to go back for the bologna sandwich and the chuckwagon, and apparently (well, according to the waitress) they do a good breakfast as well (including liver pudding, which I’m up for trying). It was a really friendly place, very much hopping at lunch time. The waitress astutely noticed that we were there for our first time, and chatted with us about liver pudding. I haven’t been to Wimpy’s in a while but I think a comparison between the two would be useful, anyone have any feelings? Paschall’s has the benefit of having seating and seeming like a nice place to hang out.

Published in: on May 8, 2008 at 12:50 pm  Comments (9)  

9 Comments

  1. I just have to say that you really do rock, Carpe Durham. No question about it.

    Carry on.

  2. dude. props for just walking in there! I might have questioned whether the place was even open! lol

  3. To get a little bit mushy/emo for a sec, my favorite thing about doing this blog is that it’s pushed me to try things I never would have otherwise, and the fact that it might do the same for people who read it gets me kind of verklempt. So I really appreciate the props guys!

  4. Isn’t Wimpy’s closed?

  5. This Emo moment brought to you by…Bacon grease. 😉

    thanks for enriching us, CD!

  6. Went by Wimpy’s during the noon hour Wednesday and the usual armada of trucks was parked outside…got a burger there a couple of weeks ago…I’d say all systems are go.

  7. I’m just glad you guys go to places most people can afford and always wanted to try. Like the taquerias around here and not the same old stuff that people talk about (like Watts Grocery, Piedmont, etc.). I get that these are good places, but places like the taquerias, local soul food places, sandwhich shops, places like Grayson’s and other great odds and ends places are featured. This entire city has great, note-worthy places to eat and you guys share that with us. I appreciate it.

  8. […] menu appears to rotate daily, and some of the items sound incredible: liver pudding (fourth pudding sighting so far), mackerel cakes, hog jowls, pigs’ feet, BBQ neck bones, liver & onions, and […]

  9. […] tacos are awesome.   Today we tried Taqueria La Esperanza (1028 Holloway St. — next to Paschall’s) for the first […]


Comments are closed.

