I want some pork and pineapple

My favorite taco is a carne enchilada from a taqueria in NY that’s got grilled achiote pork, pineapple, cilantro, onions and salsa verde. I really wanted some tonight. One of my co-bloggers had heard of a taqueria in Durham that does that pork & pineapple taco combo, but couldn’t remember the name. I decided to head over to Taqueria La Vaquita, which we’ve blogged about here, to see if they had anything similar. The closest thing on the taco menu to what I wanted was the pork and cactus leaf taco, but they also had Hawaiana tortas. It’s no taco, but it’s got pineapple and ham (still pork right?) in it. I decided that I’d just settle for something with pineapple in it, so I went for the torta. Their Hawaiana is pretty big (like most tortas) and damn delicious, despite the somewhat gross picture below. Other than the pork and pineapple, the sandwich featured lettuce, avocado, beans, hot green peppers, onions, and tomato. Except for bread part, it tasted just like my beloved carne enchilada. However, I am still on the lookout for pork and pineapple tacos. Any suggestions?

Published in: on April 8, 2008 at 8:09 pm  Comments (2)  

2 Comments

  1. wouldnt that essentially be al pastor… traditionally, with the pineapple?

  2. […] de la Vaquita? La Vaquita has always been a standby for tacos and tortas, maybe even a recognizable platillo.  Recently I decided to go further.  I came with a friend and […]


Comments are closed.

