My mini-haul from the Durham Farmer’s Market

The Durham Farmer’s Market is one of my favorite Saturday traditions (other than brunch at Piedmont/Watts).    I try to make it out to the market every weekend, but I also like to sleep in on Saturday, and the market only runs until noon, so that’s not always successful.  I happened not to get much sleep today, so I made it out!  I picked some sweet curry goat cheese from Celebrity Dairy, a box of Dolly Mama chocolate truffles, a fresh bouquet of narcissus and tulips, a dozen fresh eggs from Brinkley Farms, and a basket of strawberries.  This is the first time I’ve come across Dolly Mama, and the chocolates are truly worth a try (it’s 3 hours later and I’m almost done with the box of 6).  They’re made using Mapleview Farms milk, and come in exotic flavors such as Meyer Lemon, New World Truffle (it’s made with 3 different types of chili), and Jasmine Coconut.  They easily rival my fave chocolates of all time, Richart, but at probably a quarter of the price.   As mentioned, Amy Tornquist from Watts was there, making a strawberry salad, but there was a big crowd, so I didn’t get to a chance to taste it.

 

Published in: on April 5, 2008 at 1:43 pm  Comments (1)  

One Comment

  1. I saw Dolly Mama’s booth; pretty sure they are new this year. Glad to hear the chocolates are good! I’ll have to give them a try next time. We got tomato, basil, parsley & squash transplants, green-headed coneflower and trillium. Tim & Helga from Four Leaf Farm always have excellent plants for sale. Can’t wait to get out in the garden tomorrow to put our new purchases in the ground.


Comments are closed.

