ShrimpBoats

shrimpboats1.jpg

ShrimpBoats (2637 Durham Chapel Hill Blvd) is another place that I used to pass by every day without stopping until this blog changed my life. Maybe I thought the sign was so awesome that there couldn’t be any awesome left over for the food? Or it could be the fact that the other side of the sign is completely broken so I expected the inside to be falling apart as well. But it’s not! It was bustling at lunchtime and the cashiers were really friendly, seemed to know most people there. They have a lot of food options; more sides than any place I’ve been. Everything I had was good, though not life-changing. I am becoming a greens snob; these (which were turnip) were not bad, but not my fave. The yams were great. The banana pudding was not quite as good as at JC’s, though I liked that there were a few more non-mushy vanilla wafers, you know, for contrast. I heard a woman say that her favorite thing on the menu was the baked white chicken, and I definitely plan to go back and check out some of the many other options.

Published in: on April 2, 2008 at 1:19 pm  Comments (5)  

5 Comments

  1. I was always a little wary of going into that place too–afraid it might be a bit dive-y, but it sounds like I was wrong. Thanks for the review! “A greens snob” sounds cool to me. I love that you will try out any place, no matter how small or how questionable it may seem. Rock on.

  2. for some reason, i keep thinking that Shrimp Boats, like Pizza Palace, was once owned by a former Mayor of Durham.

    But i can’t for the life of me find that info anywhere online.

  3. Me too, I’ve been afraid of the place, but now am inspired to try it out. Thanks!

  4. Y’know, I pass by that place at least 3 times a week and always think, “Isn’t it weird that’s one place I’ve never eaten.” Hold that thought, I’m going in!

    I think the marquee recently said, “25 years in business” or something similar, if that helps date which mayor might have owned it.

  5. Shrimp Boats has been in business for almost 39 years. It was a city council person that owned for a mere 6 months, Ed Devito was his name. It has been owned by the same people for the past 13 years and yep, it is still thriving. Sorry some people think it’s a bit scarey, but when you come in, you will definately change your mind!!! Can’t wait to see you!! Mo, Nancy and Hana Yousef!!


Comments are closed.

