Taqueria El Pequeno Atoron and Huaraches

I just noticed today that the tienda at 3407 N Roxboro Rd has a taqueria in it. This is in the strip mall with the post office, and in order to find the taqueria you need to walk to the rear left of the store. For the first time ever I had huaraches (as distinguished from a huarache, which is a sandal), and I must say, they are very tasty. They are basically tortillas with meat, beans, avocados, tomatoes, lettuce, and cheese piled on top. I know in my heart the dish was not healthy, but it did have somewhat of a salad feel to it.

The taqueria itself is pretty cool.. sort of run down (in a good way), with what looked like about 10 tables for dining in. English was a minor challenge, but after a couple of attempts it worked itself out. Another bonus, they made the food right in front of me and I was out of there within 5 minutes, which is a very fast turnaround for taquerias in this area. I will definitely be back to check out their other (reasonably extensive) offerings.

Atoron Outside

Atoron Food

Published in: on April 1, 2008 at 12:56 pm  Comments (3)  

3 Comments

  1. so their uaraches are round? Generally, i’ve had them as a thick oblong tortilla type thing (hence the sandal reference) I’ve been told that traditionally, they’ll take the masa wad, spoon in a dallop of referied beans, and press it out, the beans forming this thin layer in it. griddle the thing then top it.

    mmmmm

  2. I love the building on Roxboro from Argonne Hills all the way to Duke Park.

  3. *Buildings


Comments are closed.

