Pig Out, or, I wish I was fatter right now

Today I stopped by Pig Out (5126 N Roxboro St), which bills itself as “fast” NC style BBQ. It occupies the very small building that was built for Just Wing It, which while only open for a couple of months, had some of the best wings I have ever had. Because of the Just Wing It nostalgia and its North Durham location, I really really wanted to like this place. So much so that even after a very mediocre first experience, I went back. I have now tried both the BBQ and the brisket, and lets just say that I will not be returning.

Pig Out - Outside

Published in: on March 25, 2008 at 2:13 pm  Comments (4)  

4 Comments

  1. I pass by this place going to and from work every day, and in the few months since it’s been open I’ve seen maybe 3 cars in the drive-thru. Now I know for sure it’s not just a cursed location. Thanks for the post.

  2. I’m sorry but this IS NOT North Carolina style BBQ. It’s more like what you’d find at The Q-Shack…Texas style.

  3. I couldn’t agree more.

  4. This place is terrible. I picked up a plate one day on my way to Roxboro. Never again. I also seen them serving at the Taste of Durham. I asked this lady who was eating some ribs from Pig Out and she said “it was terrrible, her ribs were so tuff”. I told her my bad experience as well. Pig Out needs to go Out.


Comments are closed.

