Café Latino (more pupusas!)

[THIS RESTAURANT HAS CLOSED]

I don’t know if this place is new or if I have just been oblivious, but I noticed Café Latino today at 3315 Guess Rd. and decided to stop in and give it a try.

Cafe Latino 1

Cafe Latino 2

Cafe Latino 3

Cafe Latino 4

I tried both the cheese and pork pupusas, and both were good. I prefer the pork pupusa at Orellana, but I think Cafe Latino has the upper hand on the cheese pupusa. The cheese quesadilla was mixed with egg and was just OK. The beef empanada was very tasty — not the best I have had, but worth getting. Overall, a solid North Durham choice, and I will definitely return.

Published in: on March 8, 2008 at 11:25 pm  Comments (4)  

4 Comments

  1. You know, I’ve always wanted to try this place everytime I went northward. There generally isn’t a lot said about the places on Guess and North Roxboro (passing the Duke and Roxboro merge).

    I remember Le Coco (North Roxboro x Latta/Infinity) from a while back. Now it’s the Eno River Eatery. I think it’s still the same food, though. The Italian Pizzeria in the Willowdaile Shopping center also has good pizza that’s not NY style. Their subs need some work, but the pizza delivers.

    Ok, enough of my rambling.

  2. […] nice to try something different, but I must admit I think I prefer the plainer ones served at other establishments in the […]

  3. i had their beef empanada today, a solid pick. their cheese pupusas are delish. especially with the wonderful salsa. their prices are great, too. $1.50 per empanada or pupusa.

  4. […] itself, as the picture indicates, the house of pupusas. It is in the same location as the failed Cafe Latino. I stopped in for some pupusas and a torta last […]


Comments are closed.

