Affirmation and Photo: Pupuseria Orellana

pupuseria.jpg
I just tried the torta at Pupuseria y Taqueria Orellana, and I wanted to confirm that it was awesome (if not holy), and that the pupusa was just as good (my only other pupusa experience was at El Cuscatleco, and that was fine but this was a whole new category of pupusa goodness). It might seem far away (was actually off the top of my Durham map) but it’s completely worth the drive.

Durham Historians: The interior of this place indicates that at one point it was some sort of doughnut shop. Does anyone know what’s up?

Also: Note that the inside of this place is awesome.  There are old-fashioned-looking aisle number signs hanging from the ceiling that don’t correspond to any aisles (the few remaining aisles are now running in a different direction).

Published in: on March 3, 2008 at 10:18 pm  Comments (16)  

16 Comments

  1. Is that the store on N. Roxboro? If so, then, yes it used to be a Dunkin’ Donuts.

  2. That sounds right. Thanks!

  3. The ex-Dunkin’ Donuts on Roxboro is now Taqueria Los Comales. It’s in the 2000 block of N. Roxboro.

    According to this page, 5300 N. Roxboro used to be a SubWay.

  4. I don’t think it was a Subway — There is currently a Subway right next to it that shares the same parking lot. Thanks though 🙂

  5. […] tried both the cheese and pork pupusas, and both were good. I prefer the pork pupusa at Orellana, but I think Cafe Latino has the upper hand on the cheese pupusa. The cheese quesadilla was mixed […]

  6. Oh, yeah, that’s right. Sorry about that. I knew that there used to be a Dunkin’ Donuts somewhere around that joint though.

  7. […] beers and some Byrd’s BBQ on Friday, I found myself zealously (drunkenly) advocating for the tortas de carne asada at Orellana. My friends insisted that I must be mistaken, claiming that the tortas at La Superior are, well, […]

  8. […] did. I tried a pupusa and a torta (al pastor). The pupusa (pollo y queso) was not quite as good as Orellana’s but was still great. The torta had a lot going on (in a good way). I’d ask for it without all […]

  9. […] was nice to try something different, but I must admit I think I prefer the plainer ones served at other establishments in the […]

  10. […] I see PK’s Billiards and Sports Bar (105 Infinity Road) all the time when I am at Orellana or the BP across the street getting Diet Coke. (Unrelated note, BPs that are marked “Family […]

  11. […] about disappointing restaurants is as much fun as reading about them, you guys have been to Pupuseria y Taqueria Orellana, right?  It was the subject of one of our earliest posts and is, in fact, holy. The yucca frita […]

  12. where is this. address please. maybe there is an easy way to get the addresses to these places you post about but i can’t figure it out. you should post them in the text about the restaurant.

  13. Click on ‘torta’ in the post, it will take you to the original posting that shows the location. Its at the corner of Infinity and Roxboro in North Durham.

  14. FYI – at the bottom of the posts I write, I always have a “map” link along with the name of the restaurant and hours. But by all means head to Orellana!

  15. […] Roxboro) has closed down.  We try not to pick favorites, but Orellana was universally loved by all of us. If you didn’t eat here while you had the chance, you really missed out. Published […]

  16. Pupuseria y Taqueria Orellana is back open as of November ’08!


Comments are closed.

