Mami Nora’s Peruvian rotisserie chicken

Mami Nora’s is a really feel-good place.   I’m not an expert on Peruvian chicken but I thought it was great–the skin was crispy and it was cooked to the exact right juiciness.  It’s a ridiculous amount of food–a quarter chicken comes with a cup of chicken soup, a roll, and two sides for $4.99.   They have what I think are the two sauces that traditionally come with Peruvian chicken (a green spicy one and a white creamy one); the green one was especially good.  As for the sides, the black beans were just ok, the sweet plantains were great (mushy and yet crispy), and I liked the fried yucca (though I’ve never had it before, so have no comparison).  Besides the food, the place made me really happy because the people working there were so dedicated to making me happy (you can tell the place is pretty new).  The guy at the counter explained each Central/South American juice option to us (I got a sweet juice made of purple corn(??), pineapple, cinnamon and cloves), and we were asked how everything was about three times (they seemed genuinely concerned).

*UPDATE: I concur with all the praise of my co-blogger, except the yucca was not to my liking.  A scanned version of their current menu is available here: Mami-Nora’s Menu. 

*UPDATE 2: It looks like they have a website up and running.

Published in: on March 1, 2008 at 2:32 pm  Comments (13)  

13 Comments

  1. I really want to try that juice!

  2. The chicken was fabulous. We also had cole slaw, which was good enough, and yucca fries. They look so much like regular fries that I got a surprise every time I bit into one. Never had yucca before either. I thought they were very good, but I also have nothing to compare them to.
    My husband said the place was packed when he stopped in. Yay for them. We’ll be doing our best to support Mami Nora’s.

  3. […] reading about Mami Nori on Carpe Durham , I couldn’t wait to try it out. Myself and a few friends headed for lunch today.  I got to […]

  4. Their food is INCREDIBLE!!!
    They’re catering a Benefit Dinner for Engineers Without Borders at NC State!
    Can’t wait!!! for more info go to:
    ewb.ncsu.bolivia.googlepages.com/benefitdinner

  5. Ranbir:
    Many thanks for the delicious food last night – both Nancy and I enjoyed the conversation and loved your new “digs”. We both hope you have continuing success.

    John

  6. I have relocated to Durham from the DC area and have to find a good restaurant that specializes in Peruvian cuisine. I look forward to dropping by to sample your chicken, yucca, plantains and other sides.

    Glad to see that such a restaurant exists in the RTP area!!

  7. Had lunch here today. Husband had the fried Tilapia and enjoyed it. I had chicken which was delicious. Yucca fries were yucka (too dry,) but loved the black beans. Sadly, they were out of fried plantains, which is what I really went there for. They offer two dipping sauces – the green one is spicy, and the yellow one is to die for.

    If you go to Mam Nora’s, be sure to check out the Mexican bakery across the street inside Compare Foods.

  8. […] done a couple of events, and two local restaurants really stand out.  Mami Nora’s (website – review) does an excellent job, and is accessible enough that even picky eaters will probably like it.  I […]

  9. […] Nora’s: Update on an Old Fave We’ve loved Mami Nora’s for a long time, and the restaurant has only gotten better since we first fell for its sweet sweet […]

  10. I went with a few friends that I volunteered in Peru with to try out the only Peruvian cuisine we could find here. I think that everyone was very satisfied – the plantains were so good. The corn drink that you had is called chicha. People in my group were also excited about the Inka Cola, a yellow soda that tastes like bubblegum (I’m not a fan, but those who love it, love it). Thanks for the recommendation!

  11. I went there to eat some lomo saltado, the food was ok. The only thing that bothered me was that some of the dishes served there were over fried and some did not have all the seasoning that made the dishes perfect. Being peruvian myself, I know that that isn’t fully peruvian style cusine and it bothers me that many people don’t have a full grasp of what true peruvian food tastes like here in the U.S., in fact many probably think it’s all about fried food, but then again NC doesn’t have many Peruvian restaurants. Although, I do recommend the ones in Charlotte. It’s worth the long trip.

    • I’ve always assumed this was more of a pan-latino fare, especially since i wasnt seeing an abundance of seafood, potatoes and creamy yellow pepper sauce…

      could you recommend a good homestyle peruvian place?

  12. I’ve been several times, and last night I took my husband. He loved it! (So do I – that’s why I keep going back. I’ve even taken my 92-year old mother, and SHE loved it.) The staff is friendly and informative. The food is plentiful, delicious, and affordable. The atmosphere is laid-back and fun. I love the sauces, and the Chicha is delicious — the pineapple really stands out, but not overwhelmingly. The chicken, of course, is to die for. I highly recommend it for an easy night out or for takeout.


Comments are closed.

