Palmas de Caribbean: Mofongo comes to Durham!

IMG_4110

Palmas de Caribbean (821 N. Miami Blvd) is where Doctor’s Cove Caribbean used to be, but despite having the Caribbean in common the two restaurants are very different.  For one thing, there’s been a major makeover inside:

IMG_4115

If you ever went to Doctor’s Cove you’ll appreciate the difference.

The menu at Palmas de Caribbean is Dominican and offers some options that I haven’t seen on a menu in Durham before.  I was especially excited to try mofongo (a mashed plantain dish).  I will eat and love any form of plantains imaginable.

IMG_4121

You can choose from a few different kinds of meat and/or cheese to be mixed in with your mofongo; I chose pernil (roast pork) and cheese.  The dish was awesome.  I loved the pork’s flavor, though I might not get it next time because it was a bit dry.  I would love to hear how this compares to other mofongo from someone who’s had mofongo before (TSQ, I’m looking at you!) but all I know is that I couldn’t stop eating this or thinking about it later.

IMG_4123

Our second entree was the bistec salteado (sauteed steak), which was good, but not much more exciting than an above average fajita.  The more exciting part of the meal was the two sides that came with it. We of course chose maduros (fried sweet plantain), which was amazing–you can’t really go wrong with this, the best dish on earth, but these had an especially good balance of mushy and crispy and were nice and rich.  

IMG_4125

We also got yucca; this one was a surprise because it wasn’t fried, as it so often is, but was the best yucca we could remember having in the area.  It was just boiled, but the saltiness and texture were ideal.

IMG_4120

Our waitress (one of the owners) suggested a couple of times that we come back for their breakfast (they open daily at 6am).  We’ll definitely be back at various times of day, I’m sure, because there are so many delicious-sounding options on the menu.  The actual menu is much more extensive than the one on their website, but they don’t necessarily have everything every day–at least the sides and possibly the entrees vary by day.  I know I’d eat anything they made for me.

The restaurant is new and it was quite empty–please check them out, I’d have to have my mofongo source dry up!

Published in: on June 4, 2009 at 12:23 pm  Comments (12)  

12 Comments

  1. Mmm, maduros. I haven’t found a good source of them since we moved from Florida, the home of Cuban food. Will definitely check this out.

    • Mami Nora’s has some pretty good maduros…comparable to some of Miami’s Cuban restaurants. Definitely satisfying.

      http://carpedurham.com/2009/02/27/mami-noras-update-on-an-old-fave/

      • Thanks for the heads up. I’ve been meaning to check it out.

  2. The last time I had mofongo locally was at Xiloa (R.I.P.). Boy, do I ache over that loss! It was a Nicaraguan/Central American place that sat where Chubby’s Tacos sits, and the chef/owner made a killer mofongo, for like $7. Also, I’ll be SO happy to check out this yuca, since I haven’t seen boiled yuca since that place either.

    And I still yearn for their “refrescos” (really, just aguas, but they had an awesome variety.

  3. HOLY CRAP! this is 100x more exciting than the stupid Cuban bar opening at ATC! Woo!

    *will report back when i can drag Sean out there with me* : )

  4. stacienagy: Those juices at Xiloa were so much more than aguas. she may have been a bit of a tyrant, but that woman’s juice-craft was amazing. I’ll never forget her coming to the table with sample cups of that day’s juices and telling me how many differnt types of mango went into the mango juice, and how it tasted like the sunrise…she did the same kind of thing for the others too…she loved making juices, and good food.. and it showed in the product, if not the overall service

    • stacienagy & TSQ: I still mourn the loss of Xiloa, too! My favorite refrescos were the lulo (she told me it was an orange that grew in the rain forest), muscadine grape, and watermelon. I also had a corn drink once that totally reminded me of the “pot liquor” from boiling corn (a wonderful childhood summer memory…)

      I wish the owner could have found a more dedicated and/or competent staff. Her food really deserved better service – if that makes any sense…

  5. Ok, went in for lunch today-Sunday. Overall, i’d give it a B+

    Completely empty when we went in around 1130am. Woman who greeted us was warm and hospitable, like an aunt welcoming you home, as Dominicans generally are. As soon as we sat down and asked what we’d like to drink I asked for a Cafe con leche, to which she perked up and assured me she’d get me a nice strong cup of Bustelo with hot milk and sugar…the way she seemed to know i’d like it. (she came back once to assure me that it was coming, but they had to brew a new pot because all they had ready was American coffee) I was already feeling at home.

    problem 1..they took forever to get us water or even take the order, but i wasnt in a hurry, so it was fine.

    I quickly realized the tastiest and quickest way out of there was going to be to focus on the Specials, which is great. It was nice to see the traditional sunday Sancocho on the specials. I got the Rabos Guisados (Stewed oxtails, a favorite of mine) simply with white rice and red beans. I also got the Mofongo with chicharron (fried pork bits). My husband got the Bistec encebollado (steak covered with fried onions—manna if its done right)

    my oxtails were tender and flavorful, albeit on the small side. Beans were def more flavorful than your average place around here, but still needed something. But I havent met a bean I didnt like. :)

    My husband’s steak was also what it needed to be.

    and the Mofongo. I’m heartbroken to say, I will not be getting again. Incredibly dry and salty. I good mofongo has nice fat pieces of soft fresh fried green plantains smashed up. sometimes with the meat, sometimes not. sometimes the meat is on the side along with the broth.

    But I will be back because there are things i am eager to try, such as the shakes, and a few other things. Also the people were just as warm and welcoming as can be. I wish them the best of luck

  6. I went today, the Mofongo was dry until I got some soup to dip it in , then I was in business. I also go something call canoa. It was great, fried plantations , chicken and cheese wow. My wife got a steak and rice dish that was very good. I would go back again!!

  7. two quick questions:

    - any good lookin veggie options?

    - what’s their breakfast like?

  8. you can easily get the mofongo vegetarian with cheese…and of course plantains..various beans n rice type options. not tons…but some. and there’s fish if you’re that type of vegetarian ; )

    breakfast is my next aim

    • thanks for the heads up. let us know when you try breakfast :)


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

